With time all politics begins to seem more innocent and quirky

Just the second sitting president whom I ever got to see in person, and the only one with whom I ever shared a meal, died this week. My first, early in the summer of 1964, had been LBJ, dedicating the federal building in San Francisco. I was taking some classes nearby & walked over on my lunch hour. Johnson was a tall man, something I had not fully appreciated from seeing him on television, and towered over his Secret Service agents. There were only a few hundred people there, and the only picket signs – there were maybe three – read Au H²O.

via Silliman’s Blog. It took 40 years for Goldwaterites to acquire an aura of posthumous charm. Cf. the Teabaggers.

Leave a Reply

